PICS: The Ballito Pro in a nutshell

2016-07-04 10:30 - Carina Greeff
Post a comment 0

Cape Town - This weekend saw the 48th edition of the world's longest running surfing contest, The Ballito Pro, hosted in Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal. 

Many of us had some serious FOMO this weekend as we could not make the trip to see the world's best surfing talents and the best of SA's music scene. 

If you too have missed out, no worries, we'll bring you up to speed in a jiff.

Australia's Connor O'Leary took on Joan Duru from France in the final on Sunday, 3 July. O'Leary was over the moon to take the win. The 22-year-old is now ranked 2nd on the men's Qualifying Series (QS) rankings and went home with the $40 000 prize.

Five South African surfers also place in the top 100 on the QS rankings after this weekend and we are super proud of our boys! Beyrick de Vries in 12th, Jordy Smith, 48th, Michael February 53rd, Matthew McGuillivray, 57th and Dylan Lightfoot, 96th.

Skye Burgess from Australia takes the women's title against South African Sarah Baum.

The weekend also saw SA's hottest music acts take the stage. Enjoy our roundup of pics, and be sure to make the trip to the 49th Ballito pro in 2017!

SEE: The Top 10 local surf spots - according to a pro wave chaser

Connor O'Leary takes the win:

Photo credit: Kelly Cestari

Champagne showers!

South African, Beyrick de Vries, advanced to the quarter finals, now ranking 12th on the QS rankings:

The crowd rocks out at the Five Star Ballito Pro Free Music Concerts:

Photo cradit: Ryan Janssens

Skye Burgess from Australia takes the win against South African, Sarah Baum in the women's final:

Star struck fans meet SA's Jordy Smith:

The crowd soaking up Ballito sun:

Waking up to a sunrise yoga sesh:

Photo credit: Ryan Janssens

What to read next on Traveller24:

- Shipwreck Hiking Trail: Pure winter slackpacking magic!

WATCH: Whheee!!! Piekenierskloof ziplines relaunch after fire

PICS: Wintery weekend brings more SNOW across SA