Where to safely and legally set off fireworks in Cape Town

2016-10-24 12:03
Post a comment 0

Cape Town - With Guy Fawkes, Diwali and New Year's Eve approaching, The City of Cape Town provided a list of sites approved for the discharge of fireworks. The list of sites has increased from eight sites to 12, providing more spots to safely discharge fireworks this festive season.

The list was approved after consultation between emergency services, law enforcement, and the various sub-councils. The increase in the number of sites seeks to minimise the temptation to discharge fireworks from unsupervised areas.

‘A number of additional sites were proposed by ward councillors, but these did not meet the safety criteria and so we had to reject them. We have also removed Theo Marais Park in Milnerton from the list of sites following objections from the public. Sunrise Beach has also been removed, in part due to the traffic congestion’ said the City’s Mayoral Committee Member for Safety and Security, Alderman JP Smith.

Here's where to discharge of fireworks on indicated days:

1. Tourism Centre, Athens Road, Table View beachfront (Killarney Racetrack is being considered as an alternative site for New Year’s Eve)
2. Wesfleur sports field, Reygersdal Drive, Atlantis
3. Bishop Lavis sports field, Lavis Drive, Bishop Lavis
4. Metropolitan sports grounds, Melkhout Street, Bonteheuwel
5. Delft Central sports grounds, Main Road, Delft
6. Swartklip sports complex, Swartklip Road, Mitchells Plai
7. Athlone Stadium parking area (eastern side), Klipfontein Road, Athlone
8. Maiden’s Cove parking area, Victoria Road, Camps Bay
9. Strandfontein Pavilion, Strandfontein
10. Sarepta sports complex
11. Blue Downs sports field
12. Macassar Beach parking area, Macassar Road, Macassar

A video posted by be yourself?? (@nora.hwang) on

The city warns all designated fireworks areas will be patrolled by City Law Enforcement and Metro Police as well as a fire inspector.

Anyone under the age of 16 is not permitted to discharge fireworks and 23:00 is the cut-off time on both Guy Fawkes and Diwali, with New Year’s Eve being the exception.

‘I hope that residents can appreciate the massive logistical exercise we deal with every year, as well as the costs associated with deploying staff to all of these areas. We could look at designating more sites, but we simply do not have the budget or the resources. I appeal to members of the public to use fireworks responsibly to prevent injuries, and to take into account the effect fireworks have on those residents who do not partake in these activities. We have confiscated fireworks in previous years and issued fines for the illegal discharge of fireworks and we will do so again this year if need be,’ added Alderman Smith.

Important contact info

Members of the public with information relating to the illegal sale or use of fireworks should report this to the Metro Police Call Centre on 0860 POLICE (765 423) or to the South African Police Service on 10111.

General emergencies can be directed via the City’s Public Emergency Call Centre on 107 from a landline or 021 480 7700 from a cellphone.

What to read next on Traveller24:

WATCH: This guy flew a drone through NYE fireworks and captured something magical

Weekend Review: Captive-bred lion ban, Missing Samsung mystery and the middle-seat wars

Biometric data bottleneck to cause OR Tambo 'festive season havoc'