#AfriTravel: A visa quick-guide for smooth travel to these 14 SADC countries

2018-03-23 15:44 - Kavitha Pillay
Post a comment 0

SA passport. (Photo: iStock)

Cape Town – At some point in our lives we are filled with immense wanderlust, to the point where we just want to pack our bags and hop on to a flight to our desired destination.

However, this is not always as easy as we imagine.

When travelling, not only do we have to ensure we follow all the rules when it comes to packing our bags and booking flights, but before we enter foreign land we need to have relevant visas in place if necessary, meet the medical requirements for the country we are about to enter, as well as inform our banks of the countries we are visiting and ensure we have some cash in the relevant currency.

SEE: WATCH: World's most powerful passports for 2018

All these checks and balances - while vital for a traveller’s well-being while exploring - can become quite cumbersome and frustrating, even more so when you simply want to pop over to a neighbouring country for a long-weekend getaway or some family holiday fun.

South Africans are lucky to have a few neighbouring countries boasting a myriad of landscapes, attractions, cultures, fauna and flora to explore, which is also different to what we have to offer. These neighbouring countries, including South Africa, form part of the Southern African Development Community (SADC).

There are 15 SADC countries in total and each one comes with its own currency, and special visa and health requirements that need to be met by visitors.

Get planning for your #AfriTravel adventure and border-crossing breaks with this need to know information below: