It's official! SA gets another public holiday

2016-09-19 13:59
Post a comment 0

Cape Town - Good news if you're smarting for leave ahead of this upcoming Festive Season.

President Jacob Zuma has declared 27 December 2016, a public holiday, throughout the Republic of South Africa, in terms of section 2A of the Public Holidays Act.

According to section 2(1) of the Public Holidays Act, 1994 a public holiday that falls on a Sunday rolls over to a Monday. However this year “whenever a public holiday falls on a Sunday, the following Monday shall be a public holiday”. However, this year has resulted in the two public holidays overlapping. Christmas Day falls on Sunday 25 December and since it cannot roll over to the Monday, which is  also a holiday and celebrated as Day of Goodwill or Boxing Day - the president has declared the Tuesday a bonus public holiday.

According to the presidency, Zuma was responding to a request by the Federation of Unions of South Africa (FEDUSA) - motivated by the fact this year workers in the country will only have 11 public holidays instead of 12 due to fact that the 25th of December (Christmas Day) falls on a Sunday. 

Public and School Holidays 2017:

1 January: New Year’s Day
20 March: School holiday
21 March: Human Rights Day
14 April: Good Friday
17 April: Family Day
27 April: Freedom Day
28 April: School holiday
1 May: Workers Day
16 June: Youth Day
9 August: National Women’s Day
24 September: Heritage Day
25 September: Heritage Day observed
16 December: Day of Reconciliation
25 December: Christmas Day
26 December: Day of Goodwill

Source: National Education Policy Act: 2017 school calendar for public schools

What to read next on Traveller24:

Kenyan elephant tramples Italian tourist to death

SAA's R4.7bn turbulence as Hong Kong route continues uninterrupted

WATCH: #HarvestMoon timelapse as full moon rises